7/10: Sluggish Days, and Learning to Fall

(I’m currently walking from Mexico to Canada, a distance of 2,700 miles, to help raise awareness & funds to help counteract the effects of human trafficking and the forced prostitution of women & children. I first came across this issue in Mumbai, India, while doing videography for Nick Vujicic’s ministry, ‘Life Without Limbs,” in 2008. Please join with me on this journey of freedom by offering prayers, telling others, and giving financially. Any donation, big or small, will be kept confidential, and will be appreciated beyond understanding. Please, please consider donating. You will literally be helping buy the freedom and put in motion the healing of those who have been unwillingly enslaved in the chains of human trafficking. Thank you!)

Videos on YouTube: ThruHike4Freedom and also ThruHike4Freedom11

Woke up later than usual and was on the trail at a very late 8:30am. For some reason, we weren’t making great time. We scaled Glen Pass, said to be the sketchiest/scariest pass (it wasn’t), and then slowed down. We eventually made about 15-16 miles, but it was one of those days. It seemed like a struggle every couple miles. The scenery was incredible, and beyond inspiring; several times I wanted to just stop, quit hiking and build a cozy log cabin that I’d live in the rest if my life, the scenery was THAT good! Lakes, mountains, it was amazing. The Sierra truly are beyond words, especially the backcountry where I am now. God is so creative! 

I found I had a hard time walking today. Once, I twisted my left ankle & nearly fell flat on my face. Worst ankle twist of the trip yet. Later, I really did trip, going down hard on the trail. My foot just slipped, and I went face-first into the rocks & dirt of the trail, my right shoulder taking the brunt of it. What made it worse was it was downhill, and my loaded pack made sure that it landed on top of my shoulder & face, insuring a very ungraceful, sliding landing. I have a sore shoulder & ripped shirt, but nothing broken or torn, besides my shirt & my pride, thankfully. I’m not surprised I crash landed, I’m actually more surprised it’s taken 800 miles to actually do a full face plant! 🙂

After a day of sluggish hiking, stream crossings, crash landings, and a pass climb, we’re finally camped at about mile 803, fed, bear boxes stashed away from the campsite, and warm in our bags. We’re going to attempt two passes tomorrow, and maybe get close to a third, and if possible get 20+ miles in. Hopefully a better day tomorrow, one where I can walk normally!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

