Quick Update: 6/20

Just wanted to let everyone know I haven’t had any internet access for a bit, and may not for another week, but I’m doing fine and heading across the Mojave towards Kennedy Meadows. All is going well and the body is holding up, so I’m stoked about that! I have a ton of new videos and some daily updates I’ll post when I am able from the last section I’ve been on. I hope you enjoy them.

The desert has been beautiful, and not as hot as it could be, although we’ve hit most days around 90-100 degrees. Not bad! Also came across the first Mojave Green rattler a couple days ago, and that was very exciting to see. I was hoping I’d see one! I took a little video of it, which I’ll post as soon as I’m able.

After this stretch of desert, I’ll be heading into the Sierra. This year, the Sierra saw an almost 35 year high in snowfall, which will make the navigation through the mountain passes more difficult on several levels, but I am very amped up for the challenge! The video & pictures from this section coming up will be amazing.

Thank you for following along, and sticking with me through this adventure. Please consider donating to the cause I am hiking for as well as following me along on here and YouTube. I appreciate your support and prayers!

Blessings,

Dug

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Quick Update: 6/20

  1. Justin C says:

    I wish I could have figured your time line better… when u came thru tehachapi …could have took u to lunch… :)
    Keep up the good work

  2. Kendall says:

    I will definitely be donating to your cause Doug. I, too, have a personal interest in human trafficking and prostitution and not because I’m African-American. More on that another time.

    I think you’re doing 2 great things. One, your effort to stop human trafficking and prostitution is very admirable and needed. Two, you’re hiking the PCT which is a dream of mine that I hope to accomplish some day. Unfortunately, my schedule doesn’t allow for me to through-hike it. I hope to start section-hiking it this year and tackle larger chunks in 2012 and finish by 2013-2014. Raising money for your cause in this way not only raises awareness for human trafficking and prostitution, but also for the importance of wilderness protections. My hat’s off to you! You’re a rock star, Doug! Stay safe and I can’t wait for your next posting.

    • thf2 says:

      Hey Kendall,

      Thanks for the affirmation towards the cause I’m hiking for. I’ll be there to buy you a meal when you section hike the PCT. Would love to hear more about your heart towards this cause! Blessings,

      Dug

  3. Samuel roe says:

    Great to hear that you’re physically ok! Cherie and I have loved the blog so far. How many miles have you done so far?

    • thf2 says:

      Hey Mr. Sam! Tired feet, sore arches, temperamental knee, but otherwise rockin’! God’s good! So far…*drum roll please* 558 miles :)

  4. Olivia K says:

    Praying for the trip through the mountains. Stay warm!

  5. all sounds so exciting!!

Leave a Reply

